Hard Reboot?

A hard reboot is when power [to a computer] is abruptly turned off and then turned back on. A hard reboot may be caused … deliberately as a last resort to reset a critical error. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reboot_(computing))

Earlier today while emptying the dishwasher, I dropped a mug, shattering its handle.

Broken mugTruth be told, the mug was pretty lackluster in appearance. When I turned it around in my hand, all I could see was a grayish white cylinder. My husband explained why.

The mug, he said, dated back to when he began working at the government agency he’s with, more than 20 years ago. Any printing that had been on the mug had long since worn off, as a result of heaven only knows how many trips through the dishwasher.

Still, I felt really bad that I’d broken it. My distress was compounded by the fact that in early December, I broke a substantial household item for the first time in our marriage. Once again, the dishwasher was involved.

That time, I was pushing the top rack of the dishwasher back into place, after unloading it. For some unknown reason, I had a Pyrex pot in my hand. When I pushed the rack all the way back on its track, I managed to smash the pot against the counter, putting a large crack in it and rendering it unusable.

Don’t get me wrong, dear reader. I’m not crying over spilled milk. I recognize that these things are only “things” and are replaceable (although in light of how many other mugs we own, I’m quite certain we won’t be getting another one….)

What bothers me is the uncertainty of why these accidents occurred. Could they have been avoided? My gut says “yes.”   Perhaps if I’d just put the pot on the counter and not tried to multi-task… Perhaps if I hadn’t slathered my hands with lotion just before handling wet dishes…

But what’s done is done. I can’t hard reboot, undo my actions and wipe the slate clean. I can, however, think of countless other occasions on which I’ve been left kicking myself upon reflecting on what I did or didn’t say/do/etc.

Reset buttonWhich is why, I wish my life had a reset button. Boy, would that come in handy!

While I wait for technology to develop a means to turn back the clock, I suppose the best course of action would be to try to learn from my mistakes. That and maybe consider hiring someone to do my dishes. 😀

 

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I occasionally break something. It’s especially bad when it leaves glass shards all over the kitchen floor. It’s just part of being human.

    http://joycelansky.blogspot.com

    Reply
  2. If only we could have do-overs whenever we needed them! :O)

    Reply
  3. A hard reboot in life would be handy or even the un-do choice. If wishes were horseshit, I’d fertilize the whole farm!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

