Red Light Rockfest

Joke: It’s okay to argue with yourself as long as you don’t lose the argument.

Google the word “books” and the phrase “Be your own best friend” and no less than five permutations on the title will come up.  I concede that I could probably use a “positive self-talk” refresher every now and then, especially, say, after a meal like the one I generally have on Thanksgiving, if you know what I mean.  But, five different books telling me how to be a friend to myself? Don’t need ’em. I’m already my own best friend. I mean, I must be, right?

After all, I’m always talking to myself or, at any rate, some invisible person. I  give counsel, ask questions and remark (quietly!) on the behavior and attire of others. Chatting with my unseen pals has its benefits. It’s helpful in sorting out problems. It reminds me of things I might otherwise have forgotten. It keeps “the creative juices” flowing and it makes time pass … except when I’m stuck in traffic.

In those situations, I default to singing.

When I sing, I take center stage and lose myself. The world around me simply vanishes. It’s just me, the music and my legions of hidden fans who especially enjoy when I belt out tunes at top volume. I can’t disappoint them, so … you know how the story goes.

Of course, like that child’s game where you cover your eyes and say, “You can’t see me,” the rest of the world is still out there somewhere. Invisible audiences are a lot more forgiving… .

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Jo Heroux

     /  November 26, 2012

    I also REQUIRE an invisible audience when I sing for their pleasure. Real people are so JUDGEMENTAL. 🙂

    Reply
  2. I also have a band of groupies that follow me around whilst I sing away. Seriously– you just can’t see them–cuz they are shhhhhhh… invisible. (They don’t know it–so don’t burst their bubble!)

    Cheers, Jenn

    Reply
  3. anne-writersspace

     /  November 27, 2012

    Haha! I also need that kind of audience when I sing and dance. That way I’m sure to get a standing ovation. Great post!

    Reply
  4. Seems like we have a regular girl band on The Writer’s Post! And of course our hoards of invisible fans. What a cool take on the prompt. Loved it!

    Reply
  5. I sing to a whole crowd of invisible admirers! When I try to sing to real people they tend to cringe. LOL

    Kathy
    http://gigglingtruckerswife.blogspot.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

