All Full All The Time

I like to think that I know the English language pretty well. After all, I’m 43 1/2 years old, so I’ve been speaking it for, I’d say, about 42  years. It’s obvious to me that in all those years, I’ve taken my ability to understand the language for granted. After all, when prompted by Angela at Journey of Life to blog on the concept of the glass being half full or half empty, I found myself running to the dictionary.

“Full,” as defined by Merriam-Webster means, “containing as much or as many as is possible or normal.” By contrast, Merriam-Webster defines “empty” as, “containing nothing.” Therefore can something be half full or half empty? Half containing nothing? Half containing as much as is possible? I should say not.

Furthermore, as I see it, regardless of how I look at the glass there is always “more” in it. Huh? If I conclude that half of the liquid is gone and therefore, the

glass is “half empty,” you might say I’m a pessimist. I beg to differ. After all, I still have the other half of whatever’s in the glass to sip and savor. Apply that to life.

As I said, I’m 43-plus years old. According to the United Nations World Population Prospects, the average life expectancy for women in the United States is 80 years. Lemme tell you, I’m not sitting at home bemoaning the fact that I may well have already lived more than half my life. Hey! I’ve still got 36-plus years to travel, garden, write, learn, love, etc. Awesome!

Now take the other approach. The glass is “half full.” That’s supposed to be the positive outlook. And I agree. It is. But it’s no more positive than the glass being half empty. It’s just a different viewpoint.  With an empty space to fill, the possibilities are endless! A thrilling prospect, wouldn’t you say?

In terms of life, the second part of mine has recently begun to unfold. How will I live it to, dare I say, “its fullest”?  Wow.  Thank goodness I have half a lifetime yet to answer that question…

So dear readers, I’m sorry, but the half full or half empty outlook on life or individual situations “translated” to mean “Do you think positively or negatively?” is a fallacy and I’m here to debunk that myth. From here on in, I will never again see the glass as half full or half empty. It just isn’t possible.

Instead, I’ll see the glass as all full all the time. Kind of like this:


Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I totally love this Daphne! Love it … Always Full! No more half full or half empty 🙂
    Thank you for linked up!

    Reply
  2. I totally agree. The glass is always full and often times overflowing!

    Reply
  3. This gives that glass a whole different meaning. It’s a much better way of seeing things in life. Love it!

    Reply
  4. Excellent post —you are right technically it is always full!

    Cheers, Jenn

    Reply
  5. Now that is one cool way to look at things! I love it!

    Kathy
    http://gigglingtruckerswife.blogspot.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

