Monster Mash (?)

Hooray! Today I’m your host for BlogFEST 2012 and it’s my half birthday. Yes, at my age, I still celebrate half birthdays… .  So to celebrate turning 43 and a half, being the “foodie” that I am, I think I’ll have some cake and maybe some ice cream.

Alternatively, in “the spirit of the (Halloween) season,” these fruits (Yep, they really are a food!) are mighty tasty. Perhaps I’ll have one or two of them.

I also love sushi and enjoy having it to mark a festive occasion. This occasion is as good as any to have sushi. I’ve had the kind shown in the picture. It’s really good. LOL!

Seriously though, with Halloween around the corner — tomorrow, to be exact — there are all kinds of wacky recipes out there on the web for such delicacies as “brains” on lettuce, “heart” on a plate and “worms in dirt.”

Most of these spooky foods are delicious sweets and treats made to look frightening.

There are, however, those dishes that we eat regularly, that leave our friends and family scratching their heads in wonderment. I’m partial to a sandwich of mashed fresh avocado mixed with soy sauce and dried onion flakes (which become reconstituted by the soy sauce). Want some?

What? What’s that? You’ll pass, thank you very much?

Disappointed as I am, I kinda understand. It’s what I like, not what you like. I developed a taste for this hair-raising concoction when I was a kid and wouldn’t ingest healthy avocado any other way. Those days are past, now, but from time to time I still enjoy a good avocado, onion flake and soy sauce sandwich. Credit my mom. She’s creative!

So fellow bloggers, use this prompt to ‘fess up. We all know each of us has a dark secret concerning a weird food we just LOVE to eat. I “showed you mine.” Will you show me yours? Your topic is: What secret weird food/dish can’t you live without and how’d the predilection develop?

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. First of all, Thank you for being the Host of the Day for BlogFEST 2012!! Secondly, OH WOW!! I don’t eat weird stuff. Well okay, let me qualify, it doesn’t seem weird to me. I’ll come up with something though–I hope!! 😀

    Cheers, Jenn

    Reply
  2. What an interesting prompt, and I love the how you’ve tackled it yourself. Those pictures are enough to put me off my food for a few days! 😉

    Reply
  3. Happy half birthday! And can I just say “ewwww”. I don’t eat anything that I can’t identify or is gross looking. But, I’ll give props to anyone who does! Thanks for sharing and have a great day!

    Reply
  4. I’m so glad you can enjoy….the pics are fabulous!

    Reply
  5. Happy half birthday! Yuck kind of gross! I don’t generally eat anything that looks gross. My husband is the same way.

    Kathy
    http://gigglingtruckerswife.blogspot.com

    Reply
  6. janu

     /  October 30, 2012

    Halloween and all….this is really gross!

    Reply
  7. Oh my that would put me off eating for a while – but a very interesting post. thanks for sharing.

    http://suzysomedaysomewhere.blogspot.co.nz/2012/11/blogfest-monster-mash.html

    Reply
  1. Red Hot And Wicked - Everyday Gyaan

Leave a Reply

