A (Gas)Light Unto The Nations …

“Lor Goyeem” — Hebrew for “The light of the nations.”

“I, the Lord, have called unto you in righteousness, and taken hold of your hand, and submitted you as the people’s covenant, as a light unto the nations.” 

This quote is one of three from the Book of Isaiah, which are said to be  promises to the people of Israel (in other words, the Jews,  of whom, I’m one!), that God will restore them to their land and cause the rest of the nations to open their eyes, and look up to the people of Israel. That’s a pretty tall order! 

…………………………………….

When I was a kid, I was quite allergic to milk and dairy products. If I ate a little bit of, or sometimes, any dairy, I would get very stuffed up and be unable to breathe through my nose.

You know what they say, “Times change, people change.” As I got older, my chemical makeup changed. These days, regardless of what I eat, if I’m not careful with quantity and quality I wind up suffering from serious digestive problems. Joy!

So it would make sense that I’d steer well clear of foods that are hard to digest like beans, cauliflower, cabbage and Brussels sprouts, right? Of course … not.

Recently I spent a few days with my father, who doesn’t eat red meat or poultry. I was responsible for the cooking. In considering what I would make my mind went to veggie (think BEAN) chili; stir fried tofu, broccoli and kale;  oatmeal with apples and pears … . Well, you get the picture.

…………………………………….

So then, in accordance with the historical call to action issued to my people and my gustatory leanings, I guess that makes me a (gas)light unto the nations. What say you BlogFEST 2012 readers? 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. OMG! I am forever grateful that I wasn’t invited to dine with you or spend an evening with you while visiting your dad. LOL

    One must maintain one’s sense of humor throughout all of life’s challenges! You have succeeded. Love it.

    Reply
  2. LOL!! I love this. It made me laugh!! I’m glad you upheld your “gas” light!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

