You Want Sorry? Here’s Your Sorry …

As many of you know, I’m an at-home wife. Consequently, I watch a considerable amount of daytime TV. I’m also a huge murder mystery fan, so my preferred TV genre is police shows of the likes of  “Law & Order,” “Rizzoli & Isles” and “Cold Case.”  Really enjoy all three of them …

Most of the shows I watch are on TNT (Turner Network Television). Quite honestly, I know my husband wouldn’t be happy, but I’d be perfectly satisfied if my TV only got reception on TNT.  (Am I jinxing myself by saying that? Oh well, I don’t mind.)

In the last couple of years, I got hooked on the recently cancelled show about the Los Angeles Police Department’s Priority Homicide Division, “The Closer,” starring the immeasurably talented Kyra Sedgwick as the indomitable Deputy Chief Brenda Leigh Johnson. Her take-no-crap approach really struck a chord with me. She was deliberate, daring, strong and wonderfully feminine and Southern. In other words, everything I want to be.

In seven seasons of the show, there’s one episode that stands out in my mind more than all the others. In season one, episode 13 (the season finale) entitled, “Standards and Practices,” Brenda is forced to apologize to various members of the law enforcement community for antagonizing them in one way or other.

This is the text of her unapologetically brash soliloquy/apology:

“I’d like to start with you, Ms. Powell. I’d like to say how sorry I am that I was unable to ignore your general level of incompetence in the wrongly obtained conviction in the case of Bill Croelick. And I’m sorry if you felt hurt and defensive about putting a man on death row for the wrong crime, and I certainly hope that that will never, ever happen again.

“Agent Jackson, I deeply regret that the FBI handed over two million dollars to a man on a terrorist watch list without the capacity to trace it, or managed to follow him for months without knowing his wife was having an affair with a doctor, and I hope you do much better in the future.

“Captain Taylor, I suppose I should apologize to you for not having been born in Los Angeles, but having seen you work up close now for several months, I can honestly say that try as I might, I can’t think of any fair and reasonable system on earth where I wouldn’t outrank you.

“There. I hope that clears everything up.”

This was the first thing that sprang to mind when invited to write on the topic, “I’m Sorry,” for BlogFEST 2012.

Wow. I so want to apologize like that. And I know exactly who I’d apologize to in that way, too. You want an apology? Here’s your apology … .

How about you? Would you like to offer such an apology to anyone “special” in your life?

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Oh, I think maybe we all have someone in our past or in our life that deserves a similar apology. I liked it a lot.

    Reply
  2. Um … let me think …

    Reply
  3. Yeah I like The Closer– and I think I’ve seen the episode that you’ve described. I haven’t watched all the shows–but the ones I have caught I really enjoyed!!

    Cheers, Jenn.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

