The Easy Chair Excursionist

It seems as though for the last several years, every time I turn around my husband and I are preparing for a vacation.

Don’t get me wrong. I love going places with him. And we have been to some amazing places in the last few years. Nashville, TN, where I got inspired to write my own country music song. It’s a work in progress. Hot Springs, AR with a stop in Little Rock to see my first presidential library! New Orleans, LA where I did what women on Bourbon Street do while on Bourbon Street. And Killington, VT, where to my absolute delight, I attended my first ever state fair, just to name a few.

When I think back on these vacations, I am filled with delight and warm, wonderful memories about being in these places. Note, I said being there.

For me, getting there is definitely not half the fun. Planes, trains, buses, cars – doesn’t matter. If I have to travel a long distance from home, I get very nervous about a thousand irrational things going wrong.

Furthermore, as one who doesn’t like being told what to do without being given a choice, for example, “Take off your shoes to go through security,” I become rather cantakerous, which doesn’t make it any easier.

And then there’s the expense of it all. Tickets, hotels, meals, souvenirs – it all adds up.

Which is why (Thank you for asking for BlogFEST 2012, Kate) I thank the good Lord for technology. It has made traveling better than ever for me. I’m especially fond of the technological marvel that is my high definition satellite television. 

With shows like Man v. Food; Hotel Impossible; and Trip Flip on the Travel Channel, Shipping Wars on A&E; and World’s Most Extreme Homes on HGTV I can take in architectural marvels, breathtaking vistas and spectacular meals all from the comfort of my living room. And, in the interest of full disclosure, at the end of the day, on the couch (next to
my husband, of course) is one of my very favorite places to be. Besides, the images on my TV screen are so high-def that you’d almost swear you were there.

I love technology for its capacity to take me to these places without the hassle of the travel involved. I’ve been to Madagascar; Zambia; India; Canada; Hawaii; Texas; Las Vegas and many, many more exotic locales, thanks to technology. Traveling this way, I feel safe and happy, despite the outstanding job the TSA does.


Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. What a great post. Technology has made it possible for us to travel in ways we never even imagined 20 years ago!!

    Cheers, Jenn.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

