Creating the Future

 “The best way to predict the future is to create it.”

If, as asked for BlogFEST 2012, by Jo over at My Wandering Mind, I ruled the world, I suspect
that I would be an enlightened despot. I’ve pretty much got the despot part down. I cannot tell a lie (about this, anyway), I’m a bit of a control freak at times.

If I think “the rules” whatever they may be, are valid and reasonable, I tend to sport a “zero tolerance” policy for people who don’t follow them.

I wrote most of this post from the Quiet Car of an Amtrak train. I insist on quiet when I’m writing, to say nothing of reading, sleeping, etc. The quiet car lends itself to all three of those activities.

However….

Almost invariably in the quiet car, I encounter a passenger who’s decided that he/she is exempt from the ban on cell phones and loud conversations. (True to form, this trip did not “disappoint.”) Simply put, I hate those self-important jerks. We all know that it’s just because you’re so insecure that you have to see to it that everyone around you knows your business. Am I right or what?

Y’know the type I’m talking about? Gag me. (Yep! I grew up in the 80’s!)

In Daph’s World, that kind of behavior wouldn’t fly. If you consider yourself above the rules, then don’t be surprised when you not only don’t get ahead, but, you go directly to jail, do not pass GO, do not collect $200.

But … 

Like any artist, I know that some rules were made to be broken. So I’d have some pointless, senseless, ridiculous rules in place, too, just so that smart, thinking individuals could thumb their noses at them and say, “In your face, stupid rule!” One such rule I can think of would be, “Gay people can’t legally get married.” How I’d LOVE to see that rule broken.

Daph’s World, in some respects would be remarkably similar to the Age of Aquarius. “Harmony and understanding, sympathy and trust abounding … then peace will guide the planets and love will steer the stars.”

Can you all live with that? Which part of me do you want to test? The enlightened part or the despot part? 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. hummmm….well, I think I like the Harmony and understanding, sympathy and trust bounding! I’m such a hippie.

    Reply
  2. I like the idea that if there are rules we don’t like–we still can change them with a little effort.

    Cheers, Jenn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

