Cross another item off my “Bucket List”

Isn’t the power of suggestion amazing?

Yesterday for BlogFEST 2012, Corinne at Everyday Gyann prompted us to explore whether we are/were living our dreams. My comment on Corinne’s post was, “Oh, gosh. I have so many dreams. I’m certain I’m living one or two of them … . ”

To me, the concept of living my dreams is the same as saying that I’ve been able to cross things off my “bucket list.” However, of late, every day that I wake up and live, it seems my already long bucket list gets a little longer.

Some items have been on it for years and, for all I know, may remain on it for years to come. Still, yesterday I felt fulfilled and pleased with my pursuit of activities that are of importance to me.

Today, I discovered that some items on my bucket list are mere moments from being crossed off. I’ve long harbored the desire to have some personal time, even if brief, with a recognized celebrity — I mean someone who is at the absolute top of his/her game. I’m not generally someone who gets excited by celebrities, but I think it’d be cool to say, “I was the subject of (insert name here)’s undivided attention.”

Little did I know that just such an opportunity was waiting to knock.

This afternoon my husband and I went to an annual food festival held on Pennsylvania Avenue in our nation’s capital called “Taste of DC.” Among the events at the festival, which featured more than 50 restaurants booths (yum!) was the International Federation of Competitive Eating (IFOCE) Annual Chili Eating Contest. This contest, much like the historic July 4th Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest in Coney Island, Brooklyn, brings out the heavyweights. Among them was Joey Chestnut, the reigning world champion competitive eater.

Just to give you a small idea, Chestnut has won the Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest six years in a row. For us foodies, the guy is legendary.

Imagine my surprise then, to see him checkin’ out the festival after the competition was over. I couldn’t stop myself. Before I knew it I was running over to him, asking for a picture. To my amazement, he was more than happy to oblige.

Face time with a world-renowned celebrity. Cross that off my bucket list!

Here I am, livin’ the dream:

Note the chili stains on his shirt! He was this year’s third place finisher, eating 1.74 gallons of chili in six minutes. Yes, you read that right. Yikes!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. How cool!! Okay, I am more than certain my co-author at Wine-n-Chat- Kathy would know who Nathan is–unfortunately I have never watched a hot dog eating contest and I’m clueless. But you know what- I’m proud of you for seeking him out and having this pic taken and accomplishing one of your dreams 🙂

    Cheers, Jenn

    Reply
  2. Love the pic. Each time I cross off one on my list I had a new one – just keeps the dreams alive!
    Here’s my post
    http://suzysomedaysomewhere.blogspot.co.nz/2012/10/blogfest-living-my-dream.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

