??? in Charge

I have a love/hate relationship with the television cartoon “Family Guy.” Oftentimes I find myself watching it when it comes on, even though, when all is said and done, I don’t really like it.

This probably seems like an odd way to address the question, “What if you could take charge of your life?” posed by Stuart Fish for day four of BlogFEST 2012.

Here’s the thing:  The other day, “Family Guy”  featured a scene in which Peter Griffin (the main character, for those not “in the know”) was singing the theme song from the 1980’s TV show “Charles in Charge.” The song is one of those types that regardless of how inane the lyrics are, the tune is just catchy enough to stick in your head (and later in your craw). Y’know what I mean? So, for the past several days now, I’ve had that ridiculous song running through my head. Even more so, since seeing the post topic yesterday morning.

Even as I’ve been singing to myself though, I’ve been thinking about the question. “Do I want to take charge of my life?”  Heck yeah, I do! I’d like to be less susceptible to derailment by my own negative thoughts so I can get more done in a day. I’d like to fine tune my BS meter further, so I know when to fish and when to cut bait. I’d like to not let FEAR (false evidence appearing real) hold me back from, well, anything. In short, I’d like to steer myself so I can live life to the fullest as much as I can. 

I think I can do it. I’m making a plan … . My only concern?


Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. What a great take on a question we all ask ourselves from time to time. I love Family Guy too… and yeah, we are up against some greater powers most of the time.

    Reply
  2. I think being in charge of your life doesn’t mean you always have everything under control, it means you are going where you wanna be. You are making your own decisions and have a goal. That being said, you may have to take a detour here and there, but that is just life. He’ll guide you, if you listen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

