June Cleaver, I Ain’t

This lady? Not me.

But sometimes, I wish I was.

Since I woke up this morning and checked the topic for day three of BlogFEST 2012 over on Sylvie’s blog, I’ve been contemplating what talent I’d wish for if I could automatically have it granted with a single wish.

I am an at-home wife. My husband and I don’t have kids, so, while he’s at work, on the days that I’m not volunteering  as a fundraiser/grant-writer, it’s just me and my house and garden.

Of course, I don’t spend all my time at home. For a little “break” I have coffee from time to time with a neighbor. I should note that she doesn’t cook and she has a “staff” to help out, including cleaning, yard and pool services.

Even so, I go to her place and I feel like I could eat off the floor. Everything is always in its place. I am reminded of the scene in the movie “War of the Roses” in which Kathleen Turner, with nothing else to do, is in her living room putting a crease into a throw pillow. It makes me a little jealous, to be very honest. With no kids, I sometimes feel like I don’t have a valid reason for having a messy home. Nevertheless, my home usually has that “lived in” look that smacks of more than two adults living in it.

There’s also the fact that I can’t iron to save my life (we take things needing pressing to the dry cleaner) and I’m lousy at mending. And if only, if only, I had the talent that my gal pal Carol has to make my own clothes. Hell, I’d settle for half the talent Carol has. She’s getting married in five months and she’s making her own wedding gown. So cool!

I think you can see where this is going. I kinda, sorta want a “Little House on the Prairie” life, where I can count on myself to get chores around the house done and not have them feel like such, well … chores.

I probably sound old-fashioned, maybe even antiquated, but if I could wish for a talent, I think I’d wish for the talent to be successfully domestically inclined.

Yikes! Will you look at the time? I gotta go start making dinner! 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. A domestic goddess is a good wish….I wish I had one! lmbo

    Reply
  2. I think that is a wonderful wish. Sometimes it is hard to make all the pieces fall into place, but eventually they do with practice.

    Kathy
    http://gigglingtruckerswife.blogspot.com

    Reply
  3. Oh I wish I had the talent you are wishing for too. I’m only good at certain things–and mending, sewing, and cooking aren’t among them!! Great post 🙂 Cheers, Jenn.

    Reply
  4. I am on the way spectrum –I am not good at house work at all. So let me know when your wish come true, perhaps you could share some with me 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

